Friday, 12 December 2014

Confusion Continues to Trail Benue APC Governorship Primaries in Benue

The ongoing saga in the All Progressives Congress (APC) to pick a governorship candidate for 2015 general election continued unabated as it enters the fifth day since the party continued to make attempts at finding a candidate.

The party had schedule fourth December 2014  to hold the primary but had to shift it when a court injunction by Professor Steve Ugba stopped the process.
Ugba  had  challenged his exclusion on the ballot after he went through all processes and got cleared to contest.

Though the injunction, it was learnt, got vacated on December 9, the party was still unable to hold the congress.

A source said the main problem with the primary was an attempt by the leadership of the party to hijack and impose a PDP aspirant on the party rather  than Hon. Emmanuel Jime who is the most popular amongst the aspirants.

Meanwhile, the ranks of the APC grew Thursday when former Minister of State, Trade and Investment, Chief Samuel Ortom,  defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PD)  to the APC to actualise his governorship ambition.
Ortom resigned his membership of the party yesterday in his council ward, Nzorov in Guma Local Government Area of Benue State.

In the same light, he picked nomination form to contest the governorship primaries of the APC scheduled to hold later in the day.

A statement by Ortom’s media adviser Mr. Tahav Agerzua, said that the former minister heeded to advice by his supporters and other stakeholders to seek an alternative party to actualise his governorship ambition.

According to Tahav, “ Ortom appeals to APC delegates to consider his long standing experience in politics and service to the people at all level of governance, exposure and contribution to the socio-economic development of the state as well as God-fearing nature and nominate as the party’s flag bearer.”

It should be noted that Ortom early this week, lost the governorship primaries of the PDP to former Speaker of the state House of Assembly Hon. Terhemrn Tarzoor.

No comments:

Post a comment