Sunday, 5 April 2015


GOING by the results of the March 28, 2015 National Assembly elections, it is clear that majority of National Assembly members will come from the All Progressives Congress (APC) and they will be in control of lawmaking for the country.

Benue State has for almost the past 16 years of democracy placed the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the helms of affairs.

The party, however, has begun to loose its grip on power. The PDP in the state is gradually being overtaken by the APC’s hurricane of change. The truth is: the ruling PDP in the state would soon be called the opposition.

Two critical factors have brought about PDP’s downturn. One of such is the shoddy conduct of its primaries in the state. Most of the aspirants were forced to step aside for the party’s flag bearer, Hon. Terhemen Tarzoor, on the night of the governorship primaries.

They felt aggrieved and tricked by the governor. As a result, they forsook the governor, leaving the party’s candidate to campaign alone. Another reason is the non-payment of salaries and pensions by the PDP-led administration for many months.

This resulted in massive votes for the APC. The PDP, which in 2011 placed two senators (Barnabas Gemade and David Mark) in the Upper Chamber, now has only one – Senate President, David Mark.

Benue North West was captured by former governor and Minority Leader of the Senate, Dr. George Akume of the APC. For Benue North East, the erstwhile National Chairman of the PDP, now chieftain of the APC, Barnabas Gemade, got the ticket and won the election for a second term to the Senate.

For the Lower Chamber, those who would call the shots also are predominantly members of the APC, except four persons from Benue South where the Senate President, David Mark holds sway. Of the three, Ezekiel Adaji of Otukpo Ohimini and Samson Uku of Oju/Obi Federal constituencies are going back for a second term, while the incumbent member for Ogbadibo/Okpokwu/Ado constituency, Hon. Hassan Salleh, was disqualified by an Abuja court.

In his place, Mr. Chris Abbah was declared unopposed winner. Similarly, for Benue North East, where Gemade comes from, only Kwande/Ushongo Federal Constituency has a new face. He is Barrister Benjamin Wayo of the APC.

He beat the incumbent, Col. Benjamin Aboho, who decamped to the Labour Party in order to re-contest the seat after loosing the PDP ticket at the primaries. Hon. Herman Hembe (APC) representing Vandeikya/Konshisha was again elected for a third term and Hon. Emmanuel Udende (PDP) representing Katsina-Ala/Ukum/Logo constituency was voted in for a second term.

For Benue North West where former governor of the state and Senate Minority Leader, George Akume, holds sway, all the four House of Representatives members are of the APC. Of the three, Mr. John Dyeh of Gboko/Tarka constituency is going back for a second term while Mr. Dickson Tarkighir of Makurdi/Guma federal constituency will replace Hon. Emmanuel Jime, who left the PDP to unsuccessfully contest the governorship slot under the APC. Hon. Orker Jev (APC) of Buruku Constituency was voted again for a third term.

The only new person among them is Hon. Mike Gbilah, elected to replace Hon. Christina Alaaga of Gwer East/Gwer West Federal Constituency.

No comments:

Post a Comment