Sunday, 17 May 2015

Senate Presidency: #APC Set to Conduct Primaries For Lawan, Saraki, Akume

The party, according to its National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, has decided to throw the positions open to those interested in occupying them.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) is not keen on zoning principal positions in the 8th National Assembly especially Senate presidency and speakership of the House of Representatives.

It prefers to allow members decide those who lead them.

He hinted that the APC would rather “do what we did during the presidential primaries.”

Top ranking party officials are understood to have been holding consultations on the sharing of positions to avoid cracks in their ranks and ensure a smooth take-off for President-elect Muhammadu Buhari.

Six blocs in the party are said to be interested in the various offices.

These are members of the New PDP who defected to APC, North-East, North-Central, South-West, South-East, and the South-South.

The South-East and the South-South are eyeing the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation with Chief Odigie-Oyegun, a retired Federal Permanent Secretary, Governor Rotimi Amaechi, ex-Governor Chris Ngige and ex-Governor Ogbonnaya Onu tipped as the favourites.

Investigation by our correspondent revealed that party leaders from the nation’s six geo political zones have been locked in marathon consultations on power sharing in the last one week.

The latest of such held on Thursday in Abuja on how to give every bloc a sense of belonging and keep APC family united.

A governor, who spoke in confidence, said: “We have started consultations because the polity is being heated up on how to share power in the new administration of Gen. Buhari.

“While we consider the heat as normal in a democracy, we will not allow the jostle for power to cause crisis in our party.

“Some of us believe that once we get the take-off right, there will be stability for the new government.

“So far, six blocs have emerged in the party seeking for inclusion in the power sharing formula. They are New PDP, North-East, North-Central, South-West, South-East, and the South-South.

“Three of the most vocal blocs comprise of members of the defunct New PDP, the North-East and the South-West who are making a strong case for top positions.

“While the North-East is calling on the party to address its marginalisation and suffering under the administration of President Goodluck Jonathan, members of the New PDP said their sacrifices must be appreciated in the power sharing modules.

“The North-East said it delivered the second largest bloc votes after the North-West during the presidential poll.

“The South-West also claimed that it virtually lost relevance in the scheme of things under Jonathan and ought to be adequately compensated.

“These tendencies are at play in the jostle for the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and other principal officers of the National Assembly.

“We are trying to accommodate all these tendencies in such a manner that it will be a win-win situation for all.”

The National Chairman of APC, Chief Odigie-Oyegun, who spoke on the phone, said: “We will throw these positions open, we will do what we did during the presidential primaries.

No comments:

Post a comment